Ranks/Grades and Skill-based Matchmaking

SBMM is a new type of matchmaking that uses a hidden skill rating instead of ranks to create fairer matches. This rating increases when you do well and decreases when you do poorly.

Each killer will have its own rating, meaning you’ll likely run into tougher matches with a character you’re really good with, but slightly easier when you’re picking something up for the first time. On the other hand, your survivors will share a single skill rating. The overall aim of SBMM is to create matches that are much more equal in terms of the skill of all players involved.

Ranks have been replaced with Grades, starting from Ash IV (4) to Iridescent I (1), with Iridescent I being the highest grade you can achieve. Each month, your rank will reset and you’ll earn Bloodpoints based on how much you’ve ranked up. Both Killer and Survivor have their own rewards, so you can earn double the points by ranking up both sides.
What will happen on Rank Reset day?
When the Grade Reset happens on the 13th, all players will be reset to Ash IV for both Killer and Survivor, regardless of their previous Grade, but their SBMM rating will be unchanged.
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 20 found this helpful



Article is closed for comments.